Skip Navigation Safe Schools/Healthy Students
Home  Initiative Apply Grantee Resources
Bookmark this page | Print-friendly version

Quick Links
 Grant Application
 Local Initiatives
 Latest News
 Show Me How Video

Top News & Announcements
U.S. Department of Education Office of Safe and Drug-Free Schools
Office of Safe and Drug-Free Schools

Safe Schools/Healthy Students Initiative


Since 1999, the U.S. Departments of Education, Health and Human Services, and Justice have collaborated on the Safe Schools/Healthy Students (SS/HS) Initiative. The SS/HS Initiative is a discretionary grant program that provides students, schools, and communities with federal funding to implement an enhanced, coordinated, comprehensive plan of activities, programs, and services that focus on promoting healthy childhood development and preventing violence and alcohol and other drug abuse. Eligible local educational agencies (LEAs) or a consortium of LEAs, in partnership with their community’s local public mental health authority, local law enforcement agency, and local juvenile justice entity, are able to submit a single application for federal funds to support a variety of activities, curriculums, programs, and services.

The SS/HS Initiative draws on the best practices of education, justice, social services, and mental health systems to provide integrated and comprehensive resources for prevention programs and prosocial services for youth. To apply for SS/HS, FY 2007 grantees and their partners proposed an integrated, comprehensive, communitywide, and community-specific plan to address the problems of school violence and alcohol and other drug abuse. This plan focused on five elements:

  • Element 1: Safe school environments and violence prevention activities.
  • Element 2: Alcohol and other drug prevention activities.
  • Element 3: Student behavioral, social, and emotional supports.
  • Element 4: Mental health services.
  • Element 5: Early childhood social and emotional learning programs.

SS/HS grantee’s comprehensive plans are designed to provide students, schools, and families with a network of effective services, supports, and activities that help students develop the skills and emotional resilience necessary to promote positive mental health, engage in prosocial behavior, and prevent violent behavior and drug use; create schools and communities that are a safe, disciplined, and drug-free environment; and engage parents, community organizations, and social services agencies to help develop an infrastructure that will institutionalize and sustain successful grant components after federal funding has ended.

SS/HS grant applicants are eligible for 4 consecutive years of funding. Continuation funding is subject to the availability of federal funds and progress achieved by the grantee. The maximum yearly award for SS/HS grants is based on student enrollment data. The maximum request for any of the project’s four 12-month budget periods is $2,250,000 for an LEA with at least 35,000 students; $1,500,000 for an LEA with at least 5,000 students but fewer than 35,000 students; and $750,000 for an LEA with fewer than 5,000 students.

Safe Schools/Healthy Students Initiative FY 2007 New Grant Awards


Montgomery Montgomery County Public Schools
Contact: John Dilworth, Superintendent
(334) 223-6710

Carpinteria Carpinteria Unified School District
Contact: Cindy Abbott, Assistant Superintendent
(805) 684-4511
La Mesa Grossmont Union High School District
Contact:          Michael Lewis, Assistant Superintendent
(619) 644-8042
Lemoore Central Union Elementary School District
Contact:          Ron Seaver, Superintendent
(559) 924-3405
Lennox Lennox School District
Contact:          Bruce McDaniel, Superintendent
(310) 695-4000
Paradise Paradise Unified School District
Contact:          Steve Jennings, Superintendent
(530) 872-6400
San Francisco San Francisco Unified School District
Contact:          Gwen Chan, Superintendent
(415) 241-6121

Westminster Adams 12 Five Star Schools
Contact:          Gary Price, District Grants Administrator
(720) 972-4079
Fort Lauderdale School Board of Broward County
Contact:          James Notter, Interim Superintendent
(754) 321-2600
Kissimmee School District of Osceola County
Contact:          Blaine Muse, Superintendent
(407) 870-4008

Eastman Dodge County Board of Education
Contact:          Aubrey Corbitt, Superintendent
(478) 374-3783
Chicago Chicago Public School District #299
Contact:          Albert Sanchez, Interim Director
(773) 553-1542
East Saint Louis East Saint Louis District #189
Contact:          Dr. Theresa Saunders, Superintendent
(618) 646-3002


Albany   Clinton County Board of Education
Contact:          Mickey McFall, Superintendent
(606) 387-6480
Monroe Monroe City Schools
Contact:         Dr. James Dupree
(318) 325-0601


Sanford Sanford Maine School District
Contact:          Jack Turcotte, Superintendent
(207) 324-2810
Roseville Independent School District 623
Roseville Area Schools
Contact:          John Thein, Superintendent
(651) 635-1615


Farmington Farmington Municipal Schools
Contact:          Janel Ryan, Superintendent  
(505) 324-9840


Schenectady Schenectady City School District
Contact:          Eric Ely, Superintendent
(518) 370-8100 ext. 107


Mission Todd County School District
Contact:          Richard Bordeaux, Superintendent
(605) 856-4457
Austin Austin Independent School District
Contact:          Dr. Pascal Forgione, Superintendent
(512) 414-2482
Hidalgo Donna Independent School District
Contact:          Joe Gonzalez, Superintendent
(956) 464-1642
New Braunfels Comal Independent School District
Contact:          Kathy Williams, Special Programs Coordinator
(830) 221-2114
Lyndonville Caledonia North Supervisory Union
Contact:          Shirley Richardson, Interim Superintendent
(802) 626-6100
Vancouver Educational Service District #112
Contact:          Twyla Barnes, Superintendent
(360) 750-7500
Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools
Contact:          William Andrekopoulos, Superintendent
(414) 475-8001


Casper Natrona County School District #1
Contact:          James Lowham, Superintendent
(307) 577-0222

Total FY 2007 New Safe Schools/Healthy Students Initiative Grants: $ 37,454,964

«« Back to Current News & Announcements

U.S. Department of Education
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
U.S. Department of Justice
Home | Contact | Privacy | Accessibility | Freedom of Information Act
About Us | | Web Site Policies | Site Map

Last Updated on 1/27/2015